Chapel Hill Church, one of our old rural churches was built in 1884 and served its community and surrounding area of Chapel Hill until 1996 when it was torn down.
Chapel Hill Presbyterian Church was formed by a group of members from the old Presbyterian Church that was on the corner of Bellville and College street (now the home of the Crittenden County Historical Museum.) in July 1883. The two-acres of land for their new church building, and future graveyard, was purchased from T. M. Hill. This probably being the origin of the name Chapel Hill.
In 1975 the church, wanting to preserve their rich history of their church and it's beginning, purchased a Kentucky Historical Marker for their church. You can see the maker of the left side of the church in the picture above.
This was a wonderful thing for them to do, for today the marker marks the former location of the church and tells the history of its beginning.
The church doors were officially closed in July 1967. Lack of membership and attendance caused its closing. The older people of the community were gone and the younger members of families had moved away for better jobs. People now drove to attend other churches in different areas, and the closeness of the rural communities was gone.
Today Ruby Barfield is the only surviving member of the group in the picture. Roy passed away in Oct. 1996 and Glen in April of 2010. Ruby turned 95 this past March.