In the early 1900's the Old Jim Mines was the celebrated carbonate mine of the nation. From the files of the Crittenden Press, dated July 10, 1902, comes this information about the zinc mines.
This great body of carbonate extends somewhat below the water level where zinc blends, or "jack" meets it, and continues downward.
Millions of pounds more are in sight in a large open cut, somewhat like a great stone quarry. Indeed it is quarried in great masses like the building stones for a skyscraper.
The "Old Jim," is the very latest sensation in the underground world. It is unique.
In the picture is the horse Old Jim, for who the mines was named after. The owners are in the buggy - Clem S. Nunn on the left and John W. Blue on the right.
***By 1912 the Old Jim mines had petered out. The vein was never struck again though thousands of dollars were spent looking for it. But the Old Jim Mines is still remembered when the history of zinc carbonate is talked about.